Our Purpose

The Southeast Alabama Council for Economic Development (Grow Southeast Alabama) is a group of 11 counties working together to market the region for growth and economic development opportunities. The counties are Barbour, Bullock, Butler, Coffee, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Geneva, Henry, Houston and Pike. This area is often referred to as the “Wiregrass” due to a type of grass that was in great abundance years ago.

Grow SE Alabama has one purpose -- to work as a team to help business and industry expand and/or relocate to southeast Alabama.

8 reasons why you should expand or relocate to southeast Alabama

The region is geographically positioned just north of the Florida panhandle and nestled alongside Georgia, allowing easy connections throughout the Southeast.

Many industries have found success in Southeast Alabama, from agriculture and forest products, to missiles, aircraft and medical education.

Southeast Alabama offers multi-modal transportation opportunities include highway, air and rail, reducing the cost and shipping time of a product. Seaport facilities are close by in Mobile, Alabama as well as Panama City, Florida.

Fort Rucker and the Alabama Aviation College are located in Dale County within Southeast Alabama, making it a hotspot for aerospace industries and suppliers. The Alabama Aviation College also has a satellite campus in Covington County.

The region’s Foreign Trade Zone Number 233 Program allows for businesses in Southeast Alabama to take part in international trade without the burden of tariffs. The FTZ is located in Dothan, spanning Houston and Dale counties, while consisting of six sites encouraging international commerce.

In addition to state incentives, there are local incentives and business support to help new and expanding industries in the region.

Workforce training programs exist in all regional community colleges and most public universities for emerging and existing industries, including  a number of aerospace training programs unique to the region.

Southeast Alabama has one of the lowest costs of living in the United States.

The Southeast Alabama Council for Economic Development is a consortium of counties actively working together to

Barbour County, AL | Bullock County, AL | Butler County, AL | Coffee County, AL | Covington County, AL | Crenshaw County, AL | Dale County, AL | Geneva County, AL | Henry County, AL | Houston County, AL | Pike County, AL

Copyright © Southeast Alabama Council for Economic Development
Website Development by Red Sage Communications